The Horsham District Year of Culture begins its fourth month!

The Horsham District Year of Culture begins its fourth month! There have been many diverse and cultural events across the District with more to come. We start April with asking you to help us celebrate with a competition.

Are you green fingered?

In this Year of Culture, we want you to help us celebrate horticulture in the Horsham District. You’ll design a planting scheme for the raised octagonal bed in Horsham Park. This needs to attract insects and visitors alike.

The judges are looking for a planting scheme which creates a visitor attraction for one season only (this bed is due to be removed next year). It needs to support insects in Horsham Park. Your scheme will celebrate horticulture in Horsham District. As a further challenge, it needs to survive in park conditions i.e. it will not be watered daily. The competition closes on 30 April 2019 and the winning scheme will be planted in May. You can find out more on the #HYDOC19 website.

A Sussex Village and its Birds

If you’re a twitterer (and we don’t mean the online type!) then this event on 5th April is for you. Mike Russell of Henfield Birdwatch is giving a beautifully illustrated talk. He’s a lifetime naturalist and bird expert. Mike worked for 30 years at The Sussex Wildlife Trust. He now works freelance organising and leading “birding” holidays all over the world. He will detail an intimate description of our native birds in a Sussex village. For more information about Henfield Birdwatch and how to join, please visit the Henfield Birdwatch website. The talk is free to members.

A walking tour through the historic village of Bramber

Continuing the outside theme this month, join the Bramber – Kings and the Castle walk on 13th April. This explores the remains of the Norman castle. The castle was built following their conquest of England in 1066, and its strategic importance in securing Norman dominance of the area. You’ll also hear about members of the notorious de Braose family and how they incurred the wrath of King John. It was, in part, events surrounding Bramber Castle and the de Braoses that led to the Barons forcing King John to agree the Magna Carta! Please reserve your place in advance by emailing [email protected] as places are limited.

An Evening with Seni Glaister: Author of Mr Doubler Begins Again

If you love a good book, Seni Glaister, author of Mr Doubler Begins Again, will be in Horsham Library for a talk, Q&A and book signing on Thursday 11th April. Seni Glaister has launched a new venture WeFiFo (short for “We Find Food”) which enables home cooks to connect to the thriving UK supper-club community and help them find a larger audience. She is the author of two books, The Museum of Things Left Behind (2015) and Mr Doubler Begins Again (2019). Mr Doubler Begins Again is a nostalgic celebration of food, friendship, kindness, and second chances, perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce and Joanna Cannon.

The Written Word: Horsham District’s Literary Life – Collected, Portrayed, Displayed

Horsham District has a rich literary history. Shelley, Conan Doyle, Belloc, Hornung, Brown, Pope, Lintott – this area of West Sussex has proved to be birthplace, host, and inspiration (as well as tomb) of many writers spanning the last 400 years. This exhibition in Horsham Museum & Art Gallery from 30th March to 22nd June, tells the brief stories of these and many others. It’s illustrated with examples of their work to celebrate the literature of the district. There are also objects and photographs to provide a sense of place. Look out in your local Horsham district library for displays about Horsham writers produced in conjunction with Horsham Writers Circle.

The West Sussex County Times – 150 years of trusted news

On the theme of writing, the West Sussex County Times in 2019 is marking a milestone in the history of the newspaper and the community – 150 years of delivering trusted news. To celebrate this important anniversary, Horsham Museum & Art Gallery will be hosting an exhibition in its Photography Gallery exploring the story of the West Sussex County Times. Using large prints of front pages detailing major events in Horsham’s history, the exhibition illuminates the impact of the West Sussex County Times, and its importance to the town and Horsham District. The exhibition runs from 1st April to 4th June.

An Evening with Aggers

Join Aggers in his solo show as he takes you on a trip down memory lane, recounting tales from a wonderful and entertaining career on the field and in the box. There will be film footage, audio clips, and photographs on the big screen. Jonathan Agnew learned his craft under the tutelage of Brian Johnston, emerging from the notoriety of the gloriously funny ‘leg over’ incident to become BBC Radio’s voice of cricket. Evenings With Aggers are always fun, fiery and full of surprises! They are fascinating, hilarious, no-holds-barred evenings for cricket fans and non-lovers of the game alike. Excitingly, there will be an opportunity for the audience to tweet Aggers with their own questions. The event at The Capitol Theatre on 10th April is being run in aid of the Professional Cricketers’ Association. It is raising money for the organisation’s Benevolent Fund.

This is just a selection of the wonderful events happening in April. You can find full details of these events and more at www.hdculture2019.co.uk, or pick up a #HDYOC19 programme from one of our many outlets across the Horsham District. Please check booking information and prices prior to attending an event.

You can follow @hdculture2019 on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter to stay up to date with the Year of Culture.

Posted in Uncategorised.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *